Congratulations to the winners of the 2021 ABDC Network Awards. The awards recognise and reward innovation and excellence across all areas of activity within ABDC member business schools — professional management, international education, teaching and learning, and research.

ABDC Award for Innovation and Excellence in International Education

This award is for initiatives in ABDC member business schools that have enhanced outcomes or improved practice in inbound, outbound or collaborative international education. They may relate to student recruitment, student mobility and research/teaching and learning partnerships with institutions overseas.

Overall winner

Andrea Haefner — Lecturer & Director of Griffith Asia Business Internship (GABI) Griffith University

For leading the Griffith Asia Business Internship, an interdisciplinary, global work integrated learning course, and pivoting to a remote offering in 2020-21.

ABDC Award for Innovation and Excellence in Research

This award is for research in business, management, economics, and related fields of research that has had a demonstrable impact on scholarship and/or practice among non-academic stakeholders.

Overall winner

Alexander Newman — Professor of Management, Deakin University

Team members:

  • Karen Dunwoodie
  • Luke Macaulay
  • Jo Ingold

For Centre for Refugee Employment, Advocacy, Training and Education (CREATE), which helps people from a refugee background rebuild their careers through access to education and meaningful employment.

Highly commended

Michelle Evans — Associate Professor, University of Melbourne

Team members:

  • Cain Polidano
  • Julie Moschion
  • Marcia Langton

For I-BLADE (Indigenous Business Longitudinal Analysis Data Environment), a partnership between government, data custodians and researchers to measure the significant economic, social, and cultural contributions to Australia made by Indigenous businesses.

ABDC Award for Innovation and Excellence in Teaching and Learning

The ABDC Award for Teaching and Learning recognises Australia’s most outstanding university teachers in ABDC member business schools who have demonstrated leadership through sustained commitment to L&T innovation, quality teaching, and sustained dedication to improve the student experience and learning outcomes in higher education.

Overall winner

James Wakefield — Senior Lecturer, UTS

Team members:

  • Kristina Vojvoda
  • Raechel Wight

For utilising technology to facilitate active, collaborative student learning in UTS’ compulsory, first-year accounting course.

Highly commended

Nicolas Pontes — Lecturer, The University of Queensland

For Newish Communications, the first student-run and 100% student managed communications agency in Australia.

ABDC Award for Innovation and Excellence in Professional Management

This award recognises initiatives that demonstrably improve the efficient management of ABDC member business schools.

Overall winner

CBLG Trimester Project team — James Cook University (award accepted by Kym Davis)

For the design and implementation of a trimester teaching timetable across JCU Australia tropical campuses and partner locations in Singapore and Brisbane.

Highly commended

Colin Picker — Executive Dean, Faculty of Business and Law, University of Wollongong

Team members:

  • Sue Mathews
  • Erin Snape
  • Michael Grainger

For two COVID-19 response initiatives for international students: Food+ with Care, and RUOK call campaign.

Add Journal File
File Categories
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt